The Hashirimizu Lower Gun Battery Site was established by the Imperial Japanese Army in 1886 and was one of the gun batteries that formed the Tokyo Bay Fortress.
It was built upon the Hatayamazaki Battery Site which was established during the late Edo shogunate.
The site was designated as a Japan Heritage Cultural Property and is open to visitors.
The name Hatayamazaki originated from the legend of Yamato-Takeru-no-Mikoto and his wife, Ototachibana-hime, recorded in the Kojiki and the Nihon Shoki.

This site is a satellite spot for the Yokosuka Route Museum, a unique way to experience the entire city as a “museum” with “routes” that connects together the history, culture, and natural environment of Yokosuka.


2-698 Hashirimizu, Yokosuka, Kanagawa (Within Hatayamazaki Park)

046-822-9561 (Park Administration Div., Yokosuka City)

【Opening Hours】
Hashirimizu Lower Gun Battery Hours Open to General Public
(Summer Season: March-October)
9:00 - 17:00
(Winter Season: November-February)
9:00 - 16:00

【Regular Holidays】
Hashirimizu Lower Gun Battery Site is open to the public on Saturday, Sunday, and holidays.
Only open on weekdays to guided tours.
Closed on December 29 - January 3.

Free for public open day
When guiding on weekdays, the fee depends on the guide group

Take a bus from Maborikaigan Station on the Keikyu Line and get off at the "Hashirimizu Kamicho" bus stop, then walk for 3 minutes.

No Parking



Return to "Yokosuka Route Museum"