Nikko-zan Rinnoji Temple

This is a collective name for halls, pagodas, and 15 sub-temples, and is registered as a World Heritage Site as one of the shrines and temples of Nikko.
Its history began more than 1250 years ago, when Shodo Shonin, the founder of Nikko's hilltop temples, built the Shihonryuji Temple.
The Sanbutsudo main temple building is one of the three head temples of the Tendai sect of Buddhism, and is also the largest-scale wooden building on Nikkozan.
Three Buddhas and bodhisattvas are worshipped here: the thousand-armed Kannon (Mount Nantai); Amithaba (Mount Nyoho); and Hayagriva (Mount Taro).