Construction for the Yokosuka Arsenal began in 1865 under the guidance of the Magistrate of Finance for the Edo shogunate, Oguri Kozukenosuke Tadamasa, and French naval engineer, Franҫois Léonce Verny.
The Thibaudier Residence was the official residence of Jules César Claude Thibaudier, the assistant superintendent of the Yokosuka Arsenal.
It was built around 1869 and was the oldest western-style building on Honshu.
The Yokosuka Modern Heritage Museum Thibaudier Residence faithfully recreates the outer appearance of the Thibaudier Residence at the time and exhibits a timber-framed brick wall and truss restored with material from the original building.
This facility also serves as the general hub for the Yokosuka Route Museum, a unique way to experience the entire city as a “museum” with “routes” that connects together the history, culture, and natural environment of Yokosuka.
1-1 Shioiri-cho, Yokosuka (Within Verny Park)
9:00 - 17:00
Open all year round
Free of Charge (some contents require a fee)
5 minutes walk from Keikyu Shioiri Station
5 minutes walk from JR Yokosuka Station
Verny Park Parking Lot, or there is a parking lot nearby
Return to "Yokosuka Route Museum"